Linking the worlds top general cargo agents

Sydney
00:44
Beijing
22:44
Cape Town
16:44
Los Angeles
07:44
Tokyo
23:44
Mumbai
20:14
London
15:44
New York
10:44

Ward Global Handle USA Soccer Team Shipment

3rd January 2015

Ward Global Handle USA Soccer Team Shipment
Ward Global Handle USA Soccer Team Shipment

At the end of 2014, Ward Global Logistics (Cargo Connections member representing the UK) were proud to handle the import clearance and delivery of the equipment & kit for the USA Men's National Soccer Team. The side and their entourage were in Europe to play 2 international fixtures: against Colombia at Fulham F.C.'s stadium, Craven Cottage in London; and against the Republic of Ireland in Dublin.

The shipment, on a total of 19 pallets, was flown in from Los Angeles and then cleared through customs against a carnet at the Heathrow warehouse of Ward Global Logistics. The pallets were then broken down for delivery to the team’s hotel in central London at a specific time, with the provision of extra labour to assist with the unloading. After the London fixture, the team travelled to Dublin for the next match and Ward Global then coordinated the collection & trucking of the kit back to Ward's London warehouse for repacking to a suitable standard (each pallet needed to be down to 158cm for x-raying), customs clearance (the carnet achieved quickly within 6 hours) and air freighting back to Los Angeles. The event equipment was separately collected promptly after the match from Fulham's London stadium and flown back to Chicago.

This is the 2nd time Ward Global Logistics have handled the import of the USA National Team’s equipment, having cleared and delivered the same shipment last year in Glasgow ahead of a fixture against Scotland. Owner of the company, Martyn Ward explains; "This is a demanding and high-profile shipment, which requires great attention to detail. We made a special visit to the team's hotel prior to the freight’s arrival to ensure the basics of the delivery were covered and to familiarise ourselves with the practicalities & logistics and also to ensure the hotel staff were fully prepared. The carnet also had to be hand delivered to customs at Heathrow and as we have our own bonded facility, the entire movement could be completed 'in-house'. We are grateful and honoured to be entrusted for the second time with this work by the US Soccer Federation and our USA agent."

Some photographs of the cargo in Ward Global Logistics' warehouse are shown below.

http://www.wardglobal.com