Linking the worlds top general cargo agents

Sydney
19:52
Beijing
16:52
Cape Town
10:52
Los Angeles
01:52
Tokyo
17:52
Mumbai
14:22
London
08:52
New York
04:52

First Global Logistics Handle a Re-Export Construction Project

11th September 2014

First Global Logistics Handle a Re-Export Construction Project
First Global Logistics Handle a Re-Export Construction Project

We are pleased to welcome First Global Logistics as our 1st member in Egypt. The company are TUV and ISO 9001:2008 certified. They employ 35 staff across 3 locations - their head office in Alexandria and branch offices in Cairo and Port Said.

First Global Logistics offer a wide range of freight services and Chairman, Khaled Sabry states; "We take a proactive approach to customer satisfaction by the use of our strongest commodity - our staff. We take the time to understand our customers business and our key word 'Accountability' is indicative of our character."

First Global Logistics have recently handled the shipping of re-export construction material project for Arabtec Consolidated Contractors (ACC), one of the world's biggest construction companies (photographed in the gallery below). The shipment involved a lot of pre-planning and complicated documentation procedures. The cargo included items such as scaffolding, pipes, pumps and frames and was shipped from Alexandria (Egypt) to St. Petersburg (Russia) then via on-carriage to its final destination in Kazakhstan. The project was completed in 3 shipments; the first, 3 x 30' open-top shipments, next, a shipment sized at 31x40', and lastly, a shipment sized at 30x40' with 2 additional 40' open-tops. This total weight of shipment was 971.048tns.

Some of the work undertaken included: studying the number and type of containers to optimise the shipment; scanning market rates and signing a contract with Maersk; completing the documentation and customs formalities before shipping; creating a loading and pre-carriage plan before the vessel left Alexandria port; negotiating export customs clearance with Alexandria port; and finally, organising the on-carriage to the delivery’s final destination, with the return of 'empties' after the containers were cleared.

The shipping process was made rather complicated, mainly due to how the documentation must be handled where re-exports are involved - with different procedures in the different countries involved. However, despite this, the shipment ran smoothly, with all parties happy and in agreement that it was a successful project.

http://www.firstgloballogistics.com