Linking the worlds top general cargo agents

Sydney
15:17
Beijing
12:17
Cape Town
06:17
Los Angeles
21:17
Tokyo
13:17
Mumbai
09:47
London
04:17
New York
00:17

First Global Logistics Complete Shipment of 5 OOG Vehicles for Shlumberger

17th May 2016

First Global Logistics Complete Shipment of 5 OOG Vehicles for Shlumberger
First Global Logistics Complete Shipment of 5 OOG Vehicles for Shlumberger

Egyptian Cargo Connections members, First Global Logistics (FGL) have recently completed the oversized cargo shipment of 5 OOG vehicles from Alexandria in Egypt to Jebel Ali in the UAE for Shlumberger.

First Global Logistics succeeded in the bidding battle to win the Shlumberger Egypt contract to ship the 5 OOG vehicles weighing 17,000kgs each and with dimensions of 8.3 x 2.7 x 3.4m from the shipper's warehouse in Alexandria to Jebel Ali port. Mazen Sabry of the Business Development Department explains; "The key to our success was due to our presentation of an alternative shipping plan to the one used by the shipper (RORO). It is usually easier for vehicles to be shipped by RORO but we did our calculations and decided to present our shipping plan based on 5 x 40' OOG flat-racks which was approved as it was more competitive than our rivals."

First Global Logistics handled the following:

  • Pick-up of the 5 vehicles from the Shlumberger warehouse and transport to Alexandria port
  • Storage of the 5 vehicles in the FGL yard inside the port
  • Stuffing, lashing & securing of the vehicles on 5 x 40' flat-rack containers
  • Trucking the containers from the FGL yard to be loaded on the vessel

Photos of the port operations are shown in the thumbnail gallery below.

http://www.firstgloballogistics.com